Aktuelles

Location

Location

Systems for identifying and tracking the position of objects

The term ‚location‘ refers to the automatic acquisition of the position of moving objects by means of indoor positioning systems, also known as Real-time Location Systems (RTLS) or by satellite positioning in outdoor areas using GPS, Galileo, etc.

Location systems enable the automatic, continuous and complete identification and tracking of objects in real time, comparable to a video recording. Events such as an entry into defined areas from all directions or even the collision of two different objects can be detected in the digital model in real time. For example the automatic recording of transportation between plants, material flow in logistics and production, the use of tools and assets.

Location systems are based on various technologies with different characteristics and costs. In outdoor areas, external infrastructure such as satellite networks or data communication networks can usually be used. The accuracies that can be achieved with standard antennas are limited to a maximum resolution of 10 meters. With suitable, special antennas and a higher energy consumption, the resolution of GPS/Galileo can be improved to up to one meter. 5G networks promise better accuracy in the future. But it remains to be seen how much additional infrastructure will be necessary. For indoor tracking, a dedicated infrastructure is definitely required. The spectrum of possibilities ranges from the detection of presence in a building, simple zone location, precise location with a resolution of about one meter to high-precision location with resolutions of a few centimeters or even millimeters. A simple rule of thumb is: the more precise the resolution of the location, the more investment is necessary to implement the system.

Location technologies

This graph shows the relationship between increasing accuracy (vertical axis) and the cost of a reference configuration for the various location technologies. There is no technology that represents an ideal solution. Rather, our guideline is to select the appropriate technology for an use case respecting the goal of a return on the investment. Therefore it is important that different technologies can be combined in one application software environment to cover all use cases with one user interface and as little integration effort as possible.

  Identification Presence Location Precise Location
Methodology Detect entry and exit via gateway/chokepoint or manual scanning Strongest RSSI at one or more receivers Weighted RSSI, Triangulation, Multilateration Triangulation, Multilateration
Reliability Missing an entry or exit results in a permanent error or is due to human error Positive interference of the signal (false positive) results temporarily in an incorrect selection Location error leads temporarily to an incorrect position Location error leads temporarily to an incorrect position
Mitigation Manual plausibility check defined by the process step Manual or automatic plausibility check made by software Automatic plausibility check made by software / due to geometry Automatic plausibility check made by software / due to geometry
Requirement Defined entry/exit gates Signals separated by physical barriers (e.g. by a wall) Buffer zones between areas (e.g. aisle) Minimum required tolerance compatible with the accuracy
Hardware cost Low
(1 gateway per access)
Low-medium
(1 or more receivers, depending on the size of the room)
Medium-High High-Very High
Suitability Registration of incoming goods, logistics, issuing tools, etc. Block storage, tool storage, mustering (counting objects in the vicinity), etc. Tracking work in progress, finding objects (also in open spaces) Automation, e.g. registering a storage location, plausibility check, equipment configuration or actuation, etc.

It is very challenging to keep track of the different technologies and vendors in the field of location and identification systems. Development is taking place in ever faster cycles. We know the advantages and disadvantages of the most important systems on the market and keep a close eye on further developments.

Request more detailed information

Aktuelles

Ortung

Ortung

Systeme zur Ermittlung von Objektidentität und -position

Der Begriff ‚Ortung‘ bezeichnet die automatische Erfassung der Position von beweglichen Objekten mittels Indoor Ortungssystemen, auch bezeichnet als Real-time Location Systems (RTLS) oder per Satellitenortung in Außenbereichen mittels GPS, Galileo, o.ä..

Die Ortung ermöglicht eine automatische, kontinuierliche und lückenlose Identifizierung und Verfolgen von Objekten in Echtzeit, vergleichbar mit einer Videoaufnahme. Ereignisse wie z.B. ein Eintritt in definierte Bereiche aus allen Richtungen oder auch eine Kollision von zwei verschiedenen Objekten, können jederzeit im digitalen Modell erfasst werden. So können z.B. werksübergreifende Transporte, Materialflüsse in der Logistik und Produktion, die Verwendung von Werkzeugen und Assets automatisch erfasst werden.

Ortungssysteme gibt es auf Basis vielfältiger Technologien mit unterschiedlichen Eigenschaften und Kosten. In Außenbereichen kann meist auf externe Infrastrukturen wie z.B. die Satellitennetzwerke oder Datenkommunikationsnetzwerke zurückgegriffen werden. Die so erreichbaren Genauigkeiten sind mit Standardantennen auf eine max. Auflösung von 10 Metern begrenzt. Mit passenden, speziellen Antennen und einem höheren Energieverbrauch kann die Auflösung von GPS/Galileo auf bis zu einem Meter verbessert werden. 5G Netze versprechen zukünftig bessere Genauigkeiten. Doch es bleibt abzuwarten, wie viel zusätzliche Infrastruktur dazu notwendig sein wird. Zur Ortung in Innenbereichen ist auf jeden Fall eine dedizierte Infrastruktur vonnöten. Das Spektrum an Möglichkeiten reicht von der Erfassung der Anwesenheit in einem Gebäude, über einfache Zonenortung, genaue Ortung mit einer Auflösung von etwa einem Meter bis hin zu hochpräziser Ortung mit Auflösungen von wenigen Zentimetern oder sogar Millimetern. Eine einfache Faustregel lautet: Je genauer die Auflösung der Ortung, desto mehr Invest ist notwendig zur Umsetzung des Systems.

Ortungstechnologien

Diese Graphik zeigt für die verschiedenen Ortungstechnologien das Verhältnis zwischen zunehmender Genauigkeit (senkrechte Achse) und Kosten für eine Referenzkonfiguration. Es gibt keine Technologie, die eine ideale Lösung darstellt. Vielmehr ist unsere Maßgabe die passende Technologie für einen Anwendungsfall auszusuchen unter Berücksichtigung der wirtschaftlichen Rahmenbedingungen. Somit ist es wichtig, dass verschiedene Technologien in einer Applikationssoftwareumgebung kombiniert werden können, um alle Anwendungsfälle mit einer Anwenderoberfläche und möglichst wenig Integrationsaufwand abzudecken.

  Ident Anwesenheit Ortung Präzise Ortung
Methodik Erkennen Ein- und Austritt per Gateway/Chokepoint bzw. Manuelles Scannen Strongest RSSI an einem oder mehreren Empfängern Weighted RSSI, Triangulation, Multilateration Triangulation, Multilateration
Zuverlässigkeit Verpassen eines Ein- oder Austritts ist direkt ein permanenter Fehler bzw. Faktor Mensch Übersprechen des Signals (falsch positiv) ist temporär eine Falschzuordnung Ortungsfehler ist temporär eine Falschzuordnung Ortungsfehler ist temporär eine Falschzuordnung
Absicherung Manuelle Plausibilitätsprüfung durch Prozessvorgabe Manuelle bzw. automatische Plausibilitätsprüfung durch SW Automatische Plausibilitätsprüfung durch SW / Geometrie Automatische Plausibilitätsprüfung durch SW / Geometrie
Bedingung Abgegrenzte Zugänge Bereiche signaltechnisch getrennt (z.B. durch Mauer) Pufferzonen zwischen Bereichen (z.B. Gang) Mindestgröße Bereich passend zu Genauigkeit
HW Aufwand Gering
(1 Gateway pro Zugang)
Gering
(1 bis mehrere Empfänger, je nach Raumgröße)
Mittel-Hoch Hoch-Sehr Hoch
Eignung Eingangsbuchungen Logistik, Werkzeugausgabe, etc. Sperrlager, Werkzeuglager, Mustering (Zählen von Objekten in der Nähe), etc. Verfolgung Umlaufbestand, Auffinden von Objekten (auch in Freiflächen) Automatisierung, z.B. Einbuchung auf Lagerplatz, Plausibilitätsprüfung, Anlagenkonfiguration, etc.

Das Spektrum von unterschiedlichen Technologien und Anbietern im Bereich von Ortungs- und Identifizierungssystemen ist kaum zu überblicken. Die Entwicklung verläuft in immer schnelleren Zyklen. Wir kennen Vor- und Nachteile der wichtigsten Systeme am Markt und behalten Weiterentwicklungen genau im Blick.

Fordern Sie unverbindlich unsere Unterlagen an

Für Rückfragen stehe ich gerne zur Verfügung.

Dr. Hans-Gerd Kürschner

hans-gerd.kuerschner(at)indutrax.net